FAQ: An error message "The user information is invalid! The Service Engine is closing" may show up unexpectedly when starting the Service Engine.
This error message is an indication of the Service Engine that the Service Engine files contain an inconsistency and validation has failed. Normally, such an error message would only appear if files have been tampered externally. There is however a specific condition under which this error may appear where no such tampering has taken place. Two easy workarounds exist:
- For the affected zenon project(s), uncheck the checkbox for the user administration in the column "do not compile and transfer" of the Service Engine changeable data settings of the project properties, in the Engineering Studio. Then compile once the Service Engine files for all projects and optionally transfer the Service Engine files to the remote system. After this, the checkbox can be activated again, the error message should no longer appear in the Service Engine.
- For the affected zenon project(s), select the project in the Engineering Studio, press "Ctrl+Alt+R" and delete the folder called "RT". Following this, compile the Service Engine files for the project.